2010 McGrath Cup Football Final – Kerry v UCC

McGrath Cup Football Final – Kerry v UCC

Kerry captured the McGrath Cup Senior Football Final on a scoreline of 1-11 to 0-9 at Austin Stack Park Tralee on Saturday.

Kerry lift McGrath Cup

Saturday, January 30, 2010 – 05:39 PM

From the Irish Examiner web site

Kerry 1-11 UCC 0-9

The Kerry footballers lifted the McGrath Cup for only the second time in their history, following a 1-11 to 0-9 final win over UCC at Austin Stack Park this afternoon. Not since 1996 have Kerry won this early season Munster competition and Jack O’Connor’s men were full value for today’s success, with defender Killian Young receiving the trophy afterwards. The All-Ireland champions prevailed despite finishing the match down to 13 players. Aidan O’Mahony was dismissed for a second bookable offence and goal scorer James O’Donoghue had to be helped off with an ankle injury late on, after O’Connor had cleared his bench.

UCC started with five Kerrymen in their team and one of them, Dr. Crokes clubman Daithi Casey, almost broke through for a first minute goal. His shot was pushed over the crossbar by Kingdom goalkeeper Ger Reidy. O’Connor’s men settled soon after with Kieran Donaghy pointing from wide out and then the big Tralee men was part of a give-and-go movement that ended with corner forward O’Donoghue slinging a low shot to the UCC net. Declan O’Sullivan and O’Donoghue added points for Kerry as the latter’s marker, Shane McEnright, was replaced.

UCC did have their moments in attack in what was a scrappy first half, and frees from David O’Callaghan, Mike Griffin and Corkman David Goold saw them polish off some decent attacks. Alan O’Sullivan, who impressed alongside the high-fielding Micheal Quirke in midfield, kicked the first of his three points and Paul O’Connor added his name to the scoresheet as Kerry took a 1-6 to 0-4 lead into half-time. Scores from O’Sullivan and Donaghy saw Kerry click on the resumption, while UCC lived off frees at the other end. O’Sullivan pointed ahead before Donncha Walsh found the target after linking with O’Donoghue and Donaghy. That was job done really for Kerry who look in good fettle ahead of their National League opener against Dublin next weekend, although the injury to O’Donoghue, a player who was pressing his claims to start the game, did put a damper on the celebrations.

The McGrath Cup is a Gaelic football competition played between the Third Level Colleges and Counties in Munster.

The following Third Level Colleges take part:


Joe McGrath donated the trophy to the Munster Council in 1981 for the promotion of Gaelic football.[1][2]

Roll of honour

Year Winner Opponent
2014[3] Cork 1-11 Kerry 0-10
2013 Kerry 1-12 Tipperary 1-05
2012 Cork 0-13 Tipperary 0-06
2011 Kerry 0-13 Clare 1-07
2010 Kerry 1-11 University College Cork 0-09
2009 Cork 1-13 University of Limerick (UL) 0-06
2008 Clare 1-06 Limerick 0-08
2007 Cork 1-08 Limerick 0-07
2006 Cork 1-09 Kerry 0-06
2005 Limerick 2-10 Cork Institute of Technology 1-03
2004 Limerick 1-09 Clare 1-06
2003 Tipperary 1-09 Clare 1-08
2002 Clare 2-13 Waterford 2-11
2001 Limerick 0-13 Tipperary 1-07
2000 Clare 3-01 London 0-04
1999 Cork
1998 Cork
1997 Clare
1996 Kerry
1995 Clare London
1994 Clare London
1993 Tipperary 2-13 London 0-04
1992 Clare Limerick
1991 Limerick Tipperary
1990 Clare London
1989 Tipperary London
1988 London
1987 Limerick
1986 Clare London
1985 Limerick
1984 Clare Tipperary
1983 Clare London
1982 Clare Tipperary
1981 Waterford

Top winners

Team Years won
Clare (12) 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2008
Cork (7) 1998, 1999, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2014
Limerick (5) 1985, 1987, 2001, 2004, 2005
Kerry (4) 1996, 20102011, 2013
Tipperary (3) 1989, 1993, 2003
London (1) 1988
Waterford (1) 1981


External links


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s