Kerryman Thomas Hickey stars as UCC secure their semi-final spot

UCC 4-16 Limerick 3-9

Thomas Hickey, Kerry
Thomas Hickey, Kerry

Though they got a bit of a fright when Limerick briefly led after 45 minutes, Billy Morgan’s UCC cruised into the semi-finals with a clinical performance against Limerick in Rathkeale.

The game produced seven goals and 25 points despite the strong wind, and UCC got off to a flying start with two early points being followed by a goal from Tom Clancy after six minutes and it was 1-5 to nil after 17 minutes.

Limerick looked destined for a hefty defeat at that stage but the first of three goals by Seanie Buckley kept them alive.

By half-time UCC led 2-6 to 1-4 with Adrian Spillane getting their second goal after 29 minutes.

UCC had Padraig O’Connor shown a black card two minutes before the interval but two points by David Harrington inside three minutes settled the students.

But they were pegged back when Buckley goaled from a penalty after UCC goalkeeper Michael Martin was deemed to have handled the ball on the ground inside the area.

When Buckley had his third goal it left Limerick in front by man-of-the-match Thomas Hickey pointed a free and then goaled to regain the advantage for the students who ran out comfortable winners.

Limerick had newcomer James Naughton on free taking duties in the absence of Ian Ryan and he put over six points.

Scorers – UCC: T Hickey 2-5 (0-4f), A Spillane 1-1, T Clancy 1-0, C Horgan 0-3, D Harrington, C Cox, 0-2 each, E O’Connchuir, C Dornan, G O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Limerick : S Buckley 3-0 (1pen), J Naughton 0-6 (6f), M Brosnan, I Corbett, S O’Dea 0-1 each.

UCC – M Martin; J Davis, P O’Connor, D Culhane; C Dorman, S White, T Clancy; S Kiely, G O’Sullivan; A Spillane, E O’Connchuir, S Keane; T Hickey, C Horgan, D Harrington. Subs: J McGuire for P O’Connor (BC 33), C Cox for Spillane (60), F O’Connor for S Keane (61), K Davis for O’Connchuir (64).

Limerick – B Scanlon; C Moran, J McCarthy, R Browne; I Corbett, C Fahy, S O’Dea; S Buckley, T Lee; C Sheehan, G Noonan, J riordan; D Neville, M Brosnan, J Naughton. Subs: J Mullins for Riordan (H-t), D Ward for Neville (59), T McCarthy for Moran (62).

Ref – S Lonergan, Tipperary.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s