1921 – Dáil Cabinet Discusses Treaty Proposals.

Stair na hÉireann/History of Ireland

Following an acrimonious and poorly written meeting minutes, Michael Collins and colleagues were asked to return to London for further negotiations. The Irish delegation consisted of Collins, Arthur Griffith (Chairman of the Delegation), Robert Barton (Minister for Economic Affairs), George Gavan Duffy and Eamonn Duggan. The delegates were styled ‘Envoys Plenipotentiary’ and given power to ‘negotiate and conclude… a treaty or treaties of settlement, association and accommodation between Ireland and the community of nations known as the British Commonwealth.’

The lack of clarity in their responsibilities would have awful consequences. Collins and company believed they would be signing a binding agreement, something which De Valera and others refused to accept when presented to the Dáil some days later.

Dáil Cabinet Minutes

Photo: George Gavan Duffy, Michael Collins, Arthur Griffith, Robert Barton


View original post

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s