History of Parliament dissertation competition 2016

The History of Parliament

Every year the History organises a competition for the best undergraduate dissertation presented in 2016 on a subject relating to British or Irish parliamentary or political history before 1997. Universities across the country submit a wide range of entries of a very high standard, this year covering everything from 17th century political philosophy to Margaret Thatcher’s foreign policy and managerial style.

Our judges, the Trust’s editors and editorial board, decided this year to divide the prize between two joint winners: Eloise Davies (Cambridge University) and Susannah Owen (Keele University). We met both winners last night at our annual lecture, where they received their prizes from our chair of trustees, Gordon Marsden MP.

Eloise Davies’ dissertation, ‘The Blasphemy Act of 1698’ focussed on this relatively neglected piece of parliamentary legislation. Davies discussed both the cultural and political contexts for the act, and argued that it was an important aspect…

View original post 216 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s